... Return to previous page

Chris Hoy wins BBC 2008 Sports Personality of the Year

14 December 2008

Chris Hoy wins BBC 2008 Sports Personality of the Year

Chris Hoy has been voted BBC 2008 Sports Personality of the Year by viewers.




The public cast votes during the live programme on BBC One, 7.00 to 9.00pm, by telephone.




Chris Hoy was presented with the prestigious silver TV camera and tripod trophy by two iconic sporting figures – Michael Johnson and Sir Steve Redgrave.




The live event, supported by Robinsons, was the biggest event in the history of Sports Personality – with a sell-out audience of around 9,000, filling Liverpool's new Echo Arena.




In second place was Lewis Hamilton and Rebecca Adlington came third.




The three winners beat off competition from Ben Ainslie, Joe Calzaghe, Nicole Cooke, Andy Murray, Christine Ohuruogu, Rebecca Romero and Bradley Wiggins, who were in the top ten shortlist of contenders going into the show.




Usain Bolt won Overseas Sports Personality of the Year.




Bolt burst onto the scene this year at the Beijing Olympics, dazzling the crowds in the Bird's Nest Stadium with his breathtaking display of sprinting as well as his unique style of pre-race warm up and post-race celebrations.




Not content with destroying the field in taking gold and claiming a new world record in the 100m, Bolt proceeded to set a new world mark in the 200m on his way to another gold and helped Jamaica top the podium in the 4x100m relay.




The Team of the Year award was won by the British Olympic Cycling Team, who were presented with the award by Alan Shearer and Alan Hansen.




They won it in recognition of their outstanding collective performances at both this year's World Championships and Beijing Olympics.




This dominance was best demonstrated in Beijing where the team secured a haul of 14 medals, including eight golds.




Jack Charlton was delighted to present the Lifetime Achievement award to his brother Sir Bobby Charlton for his contribution to football.




Sir Bobby has been involved in the game for six decades and has collected a number of top awards along the way, most famously a World Cup winner's medal and European Footballer of the Year in 1966.




After starting at Manchester United in 1954, he had an incredible career, ultimately representing England 106 times scoring 49 goals (still a record), as well as playing for United on an incredible 758 occasions, scoring 249 goals (another scoring record that still stands).




Dame Kelly Holmes and former England cricket captain Michael Vaughan presented the Coach of the Year award to British Cycling's Director of Performance David Brailsford.




Brailsford took the award in recognition of the unprecedented success enjoyed by his teams at both the World Championships and the Beijing Olympics and Paralympics this year.




Paralympic swimmer Eleanor Simmonds was named the BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year with the award presented by former winner Theo Walcott and Ricky Hatton.




The 14-year-old beat diver Tom Daley and tennis player Laura Robson to win the category awarded to a youngster of great talent who is under 16 years of age on 1 January 2008.




Eleanor won double gold in the 100m freestyle S6 and 400m freestyle S6 in Beijing this year, and is Britain's youngest-ever individual Paralympic gold medallist.




Sir Clive Woodward presented the Helen Rollason Award for outstanding achievement in the face of adversity to Alastair Hignell.




A former English rugby union international and county cricketer, Hignell initially juggled his sporting commitments with a career in teaching.




Winning the last of his 14 England caps in 1979, and finally retiring from cricket in 1983, Hignell continued to teach until he moved into journalism full time, where he became a respected reporter and broadcaster.




Diagnosed with multiple sclerosis in 1999, he became an active fundraiser while continuing to work.




His final commentary was the 2008 Guinness Premiership Final at Twickenham, where London Wasps beat Leicester Tigers 26–16.




Retiring Wasps captain Lawrence Dallaglio dedicated the victory to Hignell.




The Unsung Hero Award, supported by Robinsons, was presented by Ian Rush and Phil Neville, and honours an individual who has given their time and talents for free to enable others to participate in sport.




Ben Geyser, 70 years old, won this award by impressing the judges with his length of service, his tireless commitment and the widespread benefits to individuals and communities as a whole that his work in boxing has brought.




This year's show was hosted by Gary Lineker, Sue Barker and Jake Humphrey.